- 1 How many hours can 17 year old work in Michigan?
- 2 How many hours can a 17 year old work?
- 3 How many hours can a 17 year old work in the summer in Michigan?
- 4 What is minimum wage for a 17-year-old in Michigan?
- 5 Does a 17-year-old need a work permit in Michigan?
- 6 Are 17 year olds allowed to work full time?
- 7 Can a 17-year-old work after 10pm?
- 8 Can a 17-year-old work 12 hour shifts?
- 9 How late can a 16 year old work in the summer?
- 10 Can a 17-year-old work 40 hours a week?
- 11 How many hours do you have to work to get a break in Michigan?
- 12 What is the hourly wage in Michigan?
- 13 How much do minors get paid in Michigan?
- 14 What is minimum wage for a 14 year old in Michigan?
How many hours can 17 year old work in Michigan?
Michigan (MI) Quick Reference Table
|Age||Summary of Requirements|
|14-15||Can work between 7:00am and 9:00pm for up to 48 hours per week.|
|16-17||Can work between 6:00am and 10:30pm Sunday through thursday. May work for up to 18 hours per week during the school year.|
How many hours can a 17 year old work?
There are also rules about how many hours they can work each day. They can work up to 3 hours per day on a school day, and 18 hours total during a school week. They can work up to 8 hours on a non-school day, and 40 hours total during a non-school week.
How many hours can a 17 year old work in the summer in Michigan?
Minors are limited to working no more than 10 hours in a day, with a weekly average of 8 hours per day.
What is minimum wage for a 17-year-old in Michigan?
1, 2021: Michigan’s minimum wage will remain at $9.65 an hour. The 85% rate for minors age 16 and 17 remains $8.20 an hour. Tipped employees rates of pay remains $3.67 an hour.
Does a 17-year-old need a work permit in Michigan?
Minors under the age of 18 cannot be employed or permitted to work, with or without pay, or volunteer until the person, company, business, firm or corporation proposing to employ the minor obtains and keeps on file at the minor’s place of employment (work location) a current and valid age and color appropriate work
Are 17 year olds allowed to work full time?
Employees 17 and older can work any number of hours and any days of the week under the federal law. The only restrictions the FLSA places on 17–year–olds pertain to the jobs or occupations in which they can be employed.
Can a 17-year-old work after 10pm?
Young workers aged 16 to 17 may not ordinarily work:
at night between 10pm and 6am. There are exceptions in certain kinds of employment. Go to GOV.UK for further details.
Can a 17-year-old work 12 hour shifts?
Hours of work
between 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m., except on evenings proceding non-school days 16 and 17 year olds may work until 12:30 a.m.
How late can a 16 year old work in the summer?
Limits on Hours
During the school year, minors aged 16 to 17 generally are limited to 4 hours of work on a school day, 8 hours on a nonschool day, from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. (or until 12:30 a.m. on a nonschool day).
Can a 17-year-old work 40 hours a week?
16 and 17–year–old minors enrolled in school may not work for more than nine hours in any one day, 40 hours in a school week, 48 hours in a non-school week, and six days in any one week. Minors working until 11 p.m. on nights before a school day are required to have written parental permission.
How many hours do you have to work to get a break in Michigan?
Employees under the age of 18 may not work more than five hours without a documented 30-minute uninterrupted break. Daily time records should reflect the starting and ending of shifts as well as the 30-minute uninterrupted break.
What is the hourly wage in Michigan?
The Michigan Wage and Hour Division announced the state’s scheduled hourly minimum wage increase to $9.87 is not expected to go into effect on January 1, 2021 and will remain at the current $9.65 an hour rate.
How much do minors get paid in Michigan?
Those aged 16 and 17 can be paid under an 85% rule that allows an employer to pay 85% of the current minimum wage, or $8.20 per hour in 2021. Employers can also pay new hire minors aged 16 to 19 years old a training wage of $4.25 per hour but only for the first 90 days that they are employed.
What is minimum wage for a 14 year old in Michigan?
January 1, 2021: $9.87.